Thelen Memorial Library Find A-Z eResource List Databases Get Help Chat "How Do I..." Library Tutorials LibGuides Library Handbook Services How to Reserve a Study Room My Account/Interlibrary Loan Requests Writing Center About the Writing Center About APA Academic Writer Access APA Academic Writer About Tutor.com About Turnitin Originality About Biography of George and Sue Thelen Vision & Mission Contact Us Directions Collections and Resources Hours Library Log-In Divine Mercy UniversityLibGuidesNew GuidesNavigating the Research ProcessWhere to Search Search this GuideSearch Navigating the Research Process: Where to Search This guide is a comprehensive overview of the research process. HomeDo You Have a Topic?Topic Background ReadingDeveloping a Research TopicToggle DropdownResearch Topic - Examples Gathering Background InformationDeveloping a Search StrategyToggle DropdownDifferent Resource Types Levels of Resources Developing Key Terms Using Key Terms Where to Search Filters, Sorting, and Saving Revising Your TopicSearch Results AnalysisRevising Your SearchEvaluating ResourcesAnswering the Research QuestionCiting SourcesDetermining Needed InformationWriting Your Paper Where to Search title Where To Search At the library at Divine Mercy University, there are a number of places you can search for materials. The DMU Library Catalog is a good place to begin your search. Here, you can search for both physical holdings that DMU has and the electronic resources searchable through the WorldCat database. Filters are available for resource type, date, language, and whether DMU has the full text immediately available or not, among other things. Because the library catalog that DMU uses does not list everything we subscribe to, it is also good to search the library databases directly. Various databases focus on different topics and have different resources in them that may vary in format. For example, Films on Demand and Alexander Street Press are primarily video databases, whereas APA and EBSCOHost primarily focus on articles and books. Typically, there are general databases (such as Academic Search Complete) and specific databases (such as APA PsycNET for Psychology and ATLA for Theology). Since they do not always overlap, it can be good to search multiple databases, including some general ones and some specific ones. Usually, knowledge of the best databases comes from knowledge in the field. Your librarians or instructors will point you to which are the better databases for your topic of interest. If you already have a resource citation, the best place to search is the A-Z eResource list. The A-Z eResource list is a searchable list of all the resources that DMU subscribes to and is useful to determine if DMU has direct access to something over the databases or catalog since the catalog and databases do not always list all the subscriptions. To find a journal article you already have the citation to, it is better to click the “Journal” button and navigate to find the article rather than search for it directly. Searching for the article directly will not always find the article even though DMU has access. Additionally, it is better to search for the ISSN number if known than the title because of variations in the article’s title. If we have the resource with the article, it will show up in a list on the right. Select the journal with coverage of the issue you want. This will open the journal’s website, where you can navigate down to the article and either read or download it. << Previous: Using Key TermsNext: Filters, Sorting, and Saving >>
At the library at Divine Mercy University, there are a number of places you can search for materials.
The DMU Library Catalog is a good place to begin your search. Here, you can search for both physical holdings that DMU has and the electronic resources searchable through the WorldCat database. Filters are available for resource type, date, language, and whether DMU has the full text immediately available or not, among other things.
Because the library catalog that DMU uses does not list everything we subscribe to, it is also good to search the library databases directly. Various databases focus on different topics and have different resources in them that may vary in format. For example, Films on Demand and Alexander Street Press are primarily video databases, whereas APA and EBSCOHost primarily focus on articles and books.
Typically, there are general databases (such as Academic Search Complete) and specific databases (such as APA PsycNET for Psychology and ATLA for Theology). Since they do not always overlap, it can be good to search multiple databases, including some general ones and some specific ones.
Usually, knowledge of the best databases comes from knowledge in the field. Your librarians or instructors will point you to which are the better databases for your topic of interest.
If you already have a resource citation, the best place to search is the A-Z eResource list. The A-Z eResource list is a searchable list of all the resources that DMU subscribes to and is useful to determine if DMU has direct access to something over the databases or catalog since the catalog and databases do not always list all the subscriptions.
To find a journal article you already have the citation to, it is better to click the “Journal” button and navigate to find the article rather than search for it directly. Searching for the article directly will not always find the article even though DMU has access.
Additionally, it is better to search for the ISSN number if known than the title because of variations in the article’s title.
If we have the resource with the article, it will show up in a list on the right. Select the journal with coverage of the issue you want. This will open the journal’s website, where you can navigate down to the article and either read or download it.
